Thursday, January 27, 2011

U.S. House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Organizes and Announces Oversight Plan


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, the U.S. House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs held its organizational meeting, and approved committee rules, subcommittee membership, and the oversight plan for the 112th Congress.
“I am honored to be chairing this Committee at such a critical time for our nation and its veterans,” commented Chairman of the Full Committee Jeff Miller (FL-01).  “It will be the top priority of this Committee to ensure stringent oversight over veterans’ programs.  We must ensure that taxpayer dollars are being used efficiently to provide the best services and world class health care to nation’s warriors and their families.”
“I am also proud of the Committee’s bipartisan oversight plan that lays out an aggressive agenda that includes 79 specific items,” continued Miller.  “I consider this plan a basic blueprint for our oversight activities but, it is not exclusive and I expect to expand on it throughout the Congress.” 
A copy of the oversight plan can be found by clicking HERE.

The Committee also approved Subcommittee membership including Chair and Ranking positions. 

This list is as follows:

Full Committee
Majority Members                                                                      
  1. Jeff Miller (R-FL), Chairman                                                     
  2. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Vice-Chairman                                       
  3. Cliff Stearns (R-FL)                                                                  
  4. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)                                                             
  5. David P. Roe (R-TN)                                                               
  6. Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY)                                                       
  7. Jeff Denham (R-CA)                                                                 
  8. Bill Flores (R-TX)                                                                      
  9. Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)                                                            
  10. Bill Johnson (R-OH)
  11. Jon Runyan (R-NJ)
  12. Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)

Minority Members 

  1. Bob Filner (D-CA), Ranking Democratic Member
  2. Corinne Brown (D-FL)
  3. Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)
  4. Mike Michaud (D-ME)
  5. Linda Sanchez (D-CA)  
  6. Bruce Braley (D-IA)
  7. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
  8. D-Vacancy
  9. D-Vacancy

Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs

  1. Jon Runyan (R-NJ), Chair                                                         
  2. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)                                                             
  3. Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY)                                                       
  4. Marlin Stutzman (R-IN) 
  5. Vacancy-R  
  6. Jerry McNerney (D-CA), Ranking Democratic Member                                                       
  7. Vacancy-D
  8. Vacancy-D
  9. Vacancy-D

Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity

  1. Marlin Stutzman (IN), Chair                                           
  2. Gus Bilirakis (FL)                                                                  
  3. Bill Johnson (OH)                                                                 
  4. Tim Huelskamp (KS)
  5. Jeff Denham (CA)
  6. Bruce Braley (IA), Ranking Democratic Member
  7. Vacancy-D
  8. Vacancy-D

 Subcommittee on Health

  1. Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY), Chair                                           
  2. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)                                                                 
  3. Dan Benishek (R-MI)                                                               
  4. Jeff Denham (CA) 
  5. Jon Runyan (NJ)                                                                    
  6. Vacancy-R
  7. Vacancy-R
  8. Michael Michaud (D-ME), Ranking Democratic Member
  9. Corrine Brown (D-FL)
  10. Silvestre Reyes (TX)                                                         
  11. Vacancy-D
  12. Vacancy-D

Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

  1. Bill Johnson (R-OH), Chair                                                        
  2. Cliff Stearns (R-FL)                                                                  
  3. Phil Roe (R-TN)                                                                         
  4. Dan Benishek (R-MI)                                                                
  5. Bill Flores (R-TX)
  6. Vacancy-R
  7. Vacancy-D
  8. Vacancy-D
  9. Vacancy-D
  10. Vacancy-D

For more news from the U.S. House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, please go to: 

No comments: